John 3:16 + Forever21

zoo 015

I was cleaning my closet when I found an old Forever21 bag. I noticed something on the bottom of the bag. In bold black letters it said, “John 3:16”. This of course referring to the bible verse, “for God so loved the world, he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believed in him should not perish, but have everlasting life”. But what does Forever 21 have to do with religion? According to representatives from the store, the passage is meant to show the faith of the founders of the store.

Forever21 was founded by Don Chang and his wife Jin. They moved to the U.S from Korea in 1981 and opened their first store 3 years later. Today, Forever21 has 360 stores in 40 states, plus Canada, Dubai and Singapore.

Honestly, I don’t know what to think about this. I’m all for freedom of speech, but some of the clothes they sale are very provocative, and some a bit slutty. Yes, they do sale a few cute things at a very good price (some don’t last more than 3 washes … but more about that on another blog ), but I don’t know. I’m a bit confused about this and not sure how to feel.

2 responses to “John 3:16 + Forever21

  1. I think it’s wonderful. They are being true to themselves, no matter the popularity or lack there of.

    As for their ‘provocative’ clothes, I think it is up to the purchaser how they are worn/layered. You could make just about anything slutty by wearing it too tight, no undershirt, half buttoned, etc.
    So, if you like the tube top but feel it’s too revealing, wear a shrug over it. The buck stops with us.

    • Karen,
      Thank you so much for your comment. I’m still undecided on the issue but after your comment I’m leaning more to “Pro”. The layering is a great point, sadly so many women now days confuse slutty for seductive ( completely different ).

Leave a Reply

