Relearning to like Polka Dots

Not Actual Great Grandmother

When I was a kid Mamamelda (My grandma) had a beautiful picture of her mom on a traditional flamenco dress.  I don’t recall the color of the dress (more than likely because the picture was black and white) but I do remember the design was the traditional polka dots. I believe that because of this I always saw polka dots as a design for older people.  It was on till my roommate in college let me borrowed a gorgeous dark blue dress with aqua polka dots.  Since then I learn to appreciate this design and lucky for us it is very in right now.

Here are some tips to wear this trend:

The dots can be overwhelming and even a bit clown like if they are not wore right. If you are wearing a dress, smaller dots work better. Bigger dots work better for separates, either a top or a skirt or shorts.


Runway Fall 2010

Dolce & Gabbana, Emanuel Ungaro, Jason Wu

Red Carpet

Anna Friel, Chloe Sevigny, Eva Mendes

Leave a Reply

