Spotlight of the Month: David Peck Collection

My fabulous city of Houston is celebrating its first Audi’s fashion week during Oct. 11-14. It will features men and women’s Pret-a-Porter & Couture collections from renowned designers. Today I want to introduce you to one of the fabulous designer showing during this event. David Peck is a local designer but with international experience that many other designers would envy. If you don’t have a chance to attend Fashion Houston, I really suggest for everyone stop by the fabulous boutiques that carry his line .

What inspired you to start your own line it?

I’ve always known that I was going to start my own line. When I went to design school, my intention was that I would work for other designers while I was at school and after I graduated, but then I would start my own business.

What is your fashion education?

I attended Parsons Paris School of Art + Design.

What were some previous jobs?

My first fashion related job was styling windows at Ralph Lauren. I’ve also worked at Paco Rabanne under Patrick Robinson in Paris and Robert Normand.

Do you try to send out a message or theme in your clothes?

My whole business is based on the idea of giving back to both the local and global community. For CrOp by David Peck (my new line that is launching this fall), all of the prints were directly inspired and created from images of relief work in Uganda taken by photojournalist Jaime Collier of Casa de Camera. While the inspiration came from Africa, I wanted to abstract the images enough so that they didn’t read as ethnic or too literal. My goal is to create beautiful clothing with a minimal impact on the environment. This collection is 100% organic cotton and 100% silk.

How long have you been working in the fashion industry?

I’ve worked in jobs related to fashion for the past 14 years—I’m aging myself!

What do you think is your strengths and weaknesses in the art of fashion?

I think one of my biggest strengths is being able to visualize a completed garment or look before it’s created.  My biggest weakness is that I always want quality textiles! I’m a sucker for great fabric.

Who is your favorite designer?

Dries van Noten, Marni,  and Lanvin (Alber Elbez)

What is your price range?

CrOp by David Peck will retail between $300-$600 for most items. We’ll also have gowns available for under $1,000 that will be great options for special events and weddings.

What can we expect to see on our first Houston Fashion Week from you?

Lot’s of prints, color, and pretty dresses!

Where can we find your creations?

310 Rosemont and Elaine Turner will be carrying items exclusively for the holidays beginning the day after our Audi Fashion Houston runway show. Look for even more retailers in the spring!

For more info about David Peck Collection www.davidpeckcollection.com

For more info about Audi’s Houston Fashion Week www.fashionhouston.net

Leave a Reply

